Our Mission

The Oala Psychology Center is a private psychotherapy clinic founded in 2019 by Dr. Monica Oala, psychologist and director. Leading-edge psychotherapy services to individuals of all ages, couples and families as well as professional development opportunities for doctoral candidates are offered. Situated in the heart of Dorval’s Main Streets, the Oala Psychology Center welcomes clients in a warm, nonjudgmental and confidential setting.

Its vision is to help people transform personal challenges into life-enhancing opportunities. Furthermore, its mandate is to provide high-quality mental health services available in English and in French. The team of professionals at the Oala Psychology Center are committed to providing services that are multicultural and tailored to its client’s needs.

Our Team

Dr. Monica Oala, Ph.D.

Psychologist & Clinic Director

Dr. Monica Oala is a licensed psychologist and member of the Order of Psychologists of Quebec. Prior to obtaining her doctorate degree in Counselling Psychology from McGill University, she was trained as a Family Life Educator where she began her career creating and leading psychoeducational groups. Since the onset of her graduate studies, Dr. Oala’s affiliation with the Royal Victoria Hospital provided her with training in couples and sex therapy. At the Allan Memoria Institute, her professional acuity strengthened through complex clinical cases. Her responsibilities encompassed sex and couples therapy, group therapy, assessment in psychiatry and clinical supervision. Her profound interest in helping and empowering others through life suffering then lead her to obtain her Basic Training in Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing from the Fraser Institute. She is currently a certified EMDR clinician and a member of EMDR Canada. Dr. Oala steadily pursues continuing education activities and she is also a faculty instructor at McGill University in the department of Educational and Counselling Psychology since 2005.

Dr. Monica Oala’s professional profile consists of diverse clinical and educational experiences for over 15 years to date. Her experience allows her to provide enriched and compassionate psychological and supervisory services while taking a comprehensive and empathic stance on life difficulties. She works in three languages (English, French and Romanian) and with a diverse clientele including adolescents, adults, couples and families.

Mrs. Sofia Spariosu

Clinic Receptionist & Coordinator

Mrs. Sofia Spariosu is the receptionist at the Oala Psychology Center. Her desk is located in the reception area where she warmly welcomes all clients. In addition, she manages all calls for information, schedules all appointments and processes all financial transactions associated with the operations of the Center.

Psychotherapy

Psychotherapy is the process of helping an individual change behavior and overcome problems in desired ways. Its essence is to resolve or mitigate troublesome behaviors, beliefs, compulsions, thoughts, or emotions, and to improve relationships and social skills. The term psychotherapy is derived from Ancient Greek psyche (ψυχή meaning “breath; spirit; soul”) and therapeia (θεραπεία meaning healing; medical treatment”).

Clinicians conduct psychotherapy from a variety of scientifically informed theoretical and technical approaches. The Oala Psychology Center offers psychotherapy for a variety of problems.

The following list includes some of the difficulties we treat:

  • Anxiety & Generalized Anxiety Disorder
  • Burn-out
  • Depression

  • Grief / Loss
  • Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
  • Panic Attacks & Panic Disorder
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

  • Self-esteem
  • Stress Management
  • And more…

Psychotherapy

Psychotherapy is the process of helping an individual change behavior and overcome problems in desired ways. Its essence is to resolve or mitigate troublesome behaviors, beliefs, compulsions, thoughts, or emotions, and to improve relationships and social skills. The term psychotherapy is derived from Ancient Greek psyche (ψυχή meaning “breath; spirit; soul”) and therapeia (θεραπεία meaning healing; medical treatment”).

Clinicians conduct psychotherapy from a variety of scientifically informed theoretical and technical approaches. The Oala Psychology Center offers psychotherapy for a variety of problems.

The following list includes some of the difficulties we treat:

  • Anxiety & Generalized Anxiety Disorder
  • Burn-out
  • Depression

  • Grief / Loss
  • Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
  • Panic Attacks & Panic Disorder
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

  • Self-esteem
  • Stress Management
  • And more…

Couples Therapy

Couples therapy is a type of psychotherapy that provides couples with an opportunity to gain insight into their relationship and work through their most difficult or emotionally challenging problems.

The following list includes some of the difficulties we treat:

  • Break-ups / Separation
  • Conflict & Problem Solving
  • Communication Problems
  • Divorce
  • Infertility
  • Infidelity
  • And more…

Couples Therapy

Couples therapy is a type of psychotherapy that provides couples with an opportunity to gain insight into their relationship and work through their most difficult or emotionally challenging problems.

The following list includes some of the difficulties we treat:

  • Break-ups / Separation
  • Conflict & Problem Solving
  • Communication Problems
  • Divorce
  • Infertility
  • Infidelity
  • And more…

Sex Therapy

Sex therapy is a type of psychotherapy intended to help individuals and couples resolve sexual difficulties, such as performance anxiety or relationship problems.
Sex therapy often begins with an assessment of the client’s health and sexual background, sex education, beliefs about sex, and the client’s specific sexual concerns. The sessions do not involve any physical contact among clients and therapists.

The following list includes some of the difficulties we treat:

  • Delayed or absence of orgasm (climax)
  • Inability to become physically aroused or excited during sexual activity
  • Lack of sexual desire or interest in sex
  • Pain during intercourse
  • Sex addiction
  • Transgender support
  • Vulvodynia
  • And more…

Sex Therapy

Sex therapy is a type of psychotherapy intended to help individuals and couples resolve sexual difficulties, such as performance anxiety or relationship problems.
Sex therapy often begins with an assessment of the client’s health and sexual background, sex education, beliefs about sex, and the client’s specific sexual concerns. The sessions do not involve any physical contact among clients and therapists.

The following list includes some of the difficulties we treat:

  • Delayed or absence of orgasm (climax)
  • Inability to become physically aroused or excited during sexual activity
  • Lack of sexual desire or interest in sex
  • Pain during intercourse
  • Sex addiction
  • Transgender support
  • Vulvodynia
  • And more…

Family Therapy

Family therapy is designed to work with specific issues affecting the health and functioning of the family. It tends to view change in terms of the interactions between family members and the involvement of families is accomplished by their active participation in the therapy session. The role of the therapist is to join the family in their conversation and emphasize their strengths in order to help them work through their difficulties.

The following list includes some of the difficulties we treat:

  • Conflicts within the family
  • Physical illness
  • Lifecycle transitions
  • Mental health problems
  • Unexpected events (death, unemployment, etc.)
  • Managing behavioral problems in children
  • Divorce or separation
  • And more…

Family Therapy

Family therapy is designed to work with specific issues affecting the health and functioning of the family. It tends to view change in terms of the interactions between family members and the involvement of families is accomplished by their active participation in the therapy session. The role of the therapist is to join the family in their conversation and emphasize their strengths in order to help them work through their difficulties.

The following list includes some of the difficulties we treat:

  • Conflicts within the family
  • Physical illness
  • Lifecycle transitions
  • Mental health problems
  • Unexpected events (death, unemployment, etc.)
  • Managing behavioral problems in children
  • Divorce or separation
  • And more…

EMDR

EMDR stands for Eye Movement Desensitization & Reprocessing. In 1987, psychologist Dr. Francine Shapiro made the chance observation that eye movements can reduce the intensity of disturbing thoughts, under certain conditions. Dr. Shapiro scientifically reported success using EMDR to treat survivors of trauma suffering with post-traumatic stress disorder. When a person is very upset, their brain cannot process information as it does ordinarily. That moment becomes “frozen in time” and remembering the trauma may feel as bad as going through it the first time. Such memories have a lasting negative effect that interferes with the way a person sees the world and the way they relate to other people. EMDR seems to have a direct effect on the way that the brain processes information and can be thought of as a physiologically based therapy that helps a person see disturbing material in a new and less distressing way.

The following list includes some of the difficulties we treat:

  • Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
  • Anxiety / Phobias / Panic attacks
  • Complicated Grief
  • Depression
  • Eating Disorders
  • Sexual / Relationship Problems
  • Sexual / Physical Abuse
  • Pain Disorders
  • Dissociative Disorders
  • And more…

EMDR

EMDR stands for Eye Movement Desensitization & Reprocessing. In 1987, psychologist Dr. Francine Shapiro made the chance observation that eye movements can reduce the intensity of disturbing thoughts, under certain conditions. Dr. Shapiro scientifically reported success using EMDR to treat survivors of trauma suffering with post-traumatic stress disorder. When a person is very upset, their brain cannot process information as it does ordinarily. That moment becomes “frozen in time” and remembering the trauma may feel as bad as going through it the first time. Such memories have a lasting negative effect that interferes with the way a person sees the world and the way they relate to other people. EMDR seems to have a direct effect on the way that the brain processes information and can be thought of as a physiologically based therapy that helps a person see disturbing material in a new and less distressing way.

The following list includes some of the difficulties we treat:

  • Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
  • Anxiety / Phobias / Panic attacks
  • Complicated Grief
  • Depression
  • Eating Disorders
  • Sexual / Relationship Problems
  • Sexual / Physical Abuse
  • Pain Disorders
  • Dissociative Disorders
  • And more…

Clinical Supervision

The Oala Psychology Center provides a setting in which healing is paramount. Embedded is an educational platform where exposure and trust in supervision promotes learning, professional development and psychotherapist identity formation. The supervisory working alliance is rooted in respect, openness, genuineness, encouragement and facilitation. Our approach to supervision is constructivist in nature.

The following are some of the outcomes we work toward:

  • Combating clinician sense of anxiety/stress
  • Fostering supervisee reflexivity, perspective-taking, capacity to generate alternative conceptualizations & interventions
  • Inspiring & maintaining the expectation of supervisor help and hope
  • Providing new therapy learning experiences and practice opportunities
  • Enhancing mastery & self-efficacy
  • And more…

Clinical Supervision

The Oala Psychology Center provides a setting in which healing is paramount. Embedded is an educational platform where exposure and trust in supervision promotes learning, professional development and psychotherapist identity formation. The supervisory working alliance is rooted in respect, openness, genuineness, encouragement and facilitation. Our approach to supervision is constructivist in nature.

The following are some of the outcomes we work toward:

  • Combating clinician sense of anxiety/stress
  • Fostering supervisee reflexivity, perspective-taking, capacity to generate alternative conceptualizations & interventions
  • Inspiring & maintaining the expectation of supervisor help and hope
  • Providing new therapy learning experiences and practice opportunities
  • Enhancing mastery & self-efficacy
  • And more…

Careers

We are looking for dynamic psychologists and enthusiastic doctoral students who want to expand their experiences and join our dynamic team. Please click on the links below for more information and to apply.

PSYCHOLOGISTS
Doctoral Students

Contact Us

To make an appointment or simply to get more information on our clinic, you can contact us with the information below:

Notre Vision

Le Centre de Psychologie Oala est une clinique de psychothérapie privée créée en 2019 par Dre Monica Oala, psychologue et directrice, qui offre des services de psychothérapie de pointe aux personnes de tous âges, aux couples et aux familles; ainsi que la croissance professionnelle pour les doctorants. Situé au cœur des Rues Principales de la Ville de Dorval, le Centre de Psychologie Oala accueille ses clients dans un cadre chaleureux, sans jugement et confidentiel.

Sa vision est d’aider les gens à transformer les défis personnels en opportunités pour améliorer la vie. De plus, son mandat est de fournir des services de santé mentale de haute qualité aux clients tout disponible en anglais et en français. L’équipe de professionnels du Centre de Psychologie Oala s’engage à fournir des services multiculturels adaptés aux besoins de ses clients.

Notre équipe

Dre Monica Oala, Ph.D.

Psychologue & Directrice

Dre Monica Oala est psychologue et membre de l’Ordre des psychologues du Québec. En plus d’avoir un doctorat en Psychologie de Counseling de l’Université McGill, elle est diplômée en Éducation de Vie Familiale. Elle a commencé sa carrière en créant et dirigeant des groupes psychoéducatifs. Depuis, l’affiliation de Dre Oala avec l’Hôpital Royal Victoria et l’Institut Allan Memorial lui a permis de travailler avec des dossiers complexes.  Ses responsabilités survolaient la sexothérapie, la thérapie du couple, la thérapie de groupe, les évaluations en psychiatrie, et la supervision clinique. Son profond intérêt à aider ses clients à travers leurs souffrances l’a amenée à obtenir sa formation de base en EMDR (désensibilisation et retraitement des mouvements oculaires) de l’Institut Fraser. Elle est membre et clinicienne certifiée par EMDR Canada. Dre Oala poursuit énergiquement des activités de formation continue. Elle est également instructrice à la Faculté de Psychologie de l’Éducation et du Counseling de l’Université McGill depuis 2005.

Le profil professionnel de Dre Monica Oala consiste en diverses expériences cliniques et éducatives depuis plus de 15 ans. Son expérience lui permet de fournir des services psychologiques et de supervision enrichissants et empreints de compassion tout en adoptant une attitude compréhensive et empathique face aux difficultés de la vie. Elle travaille en trois langues (anglais, français et roumain) et auprès d’une clientèle variée comprenant des adolescents, des adultes, des couples et des familles.

Mme Sofia Spariosu

Réceptionniste et Coordonnatrice du Centre

Mme Sofia Spariosu est la réceptionniste du Centre de Psychologie Oala. Son bureau est situé dans la salle de réception où elle accueille chaleureusement tous les clients. En outre, elle gère tous les appels d’informations, prend tous les rendez-vous et traite toutes les transactions financières associées aux opérations du Centre.

Psychothérapie

La psychothérapie consiste à aider un individu à modifier son comportement et à surmonter les problèmes. Son essence est de résoudre ou d’atténuer les comportements, les croyances, les compulsions, les pensées ou les émotions problématiques, et d’améliorer les relations et les aptitudes sociales. Le terme psychothérapie est dérivé de la psyché provenant du grec ancien (ψυχή signifiant «souffle; esprit; âme») et de therapeia (θεραπεία signifiant guérison; traitement médical »).

Les cliniciens effectuent une psychothérapie à partir d’une variété d’approches théoriques et techniques scientifiquement fondées. Le Centre de Psychologie Oala offre la psychothérapie pour plusieurs problématiques.

Voici quelques difficultés que nous traitons:

  • Trouble d’anxiété et d’anxiété généralisée
  • Épuisement professionnel (Burn-out)
  • Dépression
  • Deuil
  • Trouble obsessionnel compulsif
  • Attaques de panique et trouble de panique

  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

  • Estime de soi
  • La gestion du stress

  • Et autre…

Psychothérapie

La psychothérapie consiste à aider un individu à modifier son comportement et à surmonter les problèmes. Son essence est de résoudre ou d’atténuer les comportements, les croyances, les compulsions, les pensées ou les émotions problématiques, et d’améliorer les relations et les aptitudes sociales. Le terme psychothérapie est dérivé de la psyché provenant du grec ancien (ψυχή signifiant «souffle; esprit; âme») et de therapeia (θεραπεία signifiant guérison; traitement médical »).

Les cliniciens effectuent une psychothérapie à partir d’une variété d’approches théoriques et techniques scientifiquement fondées. Le Centre de Psychologie Oala offre la psychothérapie pour plusieurs problématiques.

Voici quelques difficultés que nous traitons:

  • Trouble d’anxiété et d’anxiété généralisée
  • Épuisement professionnel (Burn-out)
  • Dépression
  • Deuil
  • Trouble obsessionnel compulsif
  • Attaques de panique et trouble de panique

  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

  • Estime de soi
  • La gestion du stress

  • Et autre…

Thérapie de couple

La thérapie de couple est un type de psychothérapie qui permet aux couples d’en apprendre davantage sur leur relation et de résoudre leurs problèmes les plus inquiétants et les plus difficiles émotionnellement.

Voici quelques difficultés que nous traitons:

  • Ruptures / Séparation

  • Résolution de conflits et de problèmes

  • Problèmes de communication

  • Divorce

  • Infertilité

  • Infidélité

  • Et autre…

Thérapie de couple

La thérapie de couple est un type de psychothérapie qui permet aux couples d’en apprendre davantage sur leur relation et de résoudre leurs problèmes les plus inquiétants et les plus difficiles émotionnellement.

Voici quelques difficultés que nous traitons:

  • Ruptures / Séparation

  • Résolution de conflits et de problèmes

  • Problèmes de communication

  • Divorce

  • Infertilité

  • Infidélité

  • Et autre…

Sexothérapie

La sexothérapie commence typiquement par une évaluation de la santé et des antécédents sexuels du client, de son éducation sexuelle, de ses convictions quant au sexe et des préoccupations sexuelles spécifiques du client. La thérapie n’implique aucun contact physique entre clients et thérapeutes.

Voici quelques difficultés que nous traitons:

  • Absence d’orgasme

  • Incapacité de devenir physiquement excité pendant une activité sexuelle

  • Manque de désir sexuel ou d’intérêt sexuel

  • Douleur pendant les rapports sexuels

  • Dépendance sexuelle

  • Soutien transgenre

  • Vulvodynie

  • Et autre…

Sexothérapie

La sexothérapie commence typiquement par une évaluation de la santé et des antécédents sexuels du client, de son éducation sexuelle, de ses convictions quant au sexe et des préoccupations sexuelles spécifiques du client. La thérapie n’implique aucun contact physique entre clients et thérapeutes.

Voici quelques difficultés que nous traitons:

  • Absence d’orgasme

  • Incapacité de devenir physiquement excité pendant une activité sexuelle

  • Manque de désir sexuel ou d’intérêt sexuel

  • Douleur pendant les rapports sexuels

  • Dépendance sexuelle

  • Soutien transgenre

  • Vulvodynie

  • Et autre…

Thérapie familiale

La thérapie familiale est conçue pour traiter des problèmes spécifiques affectant la santé et le fonctionnement de la famille. Cela tend à considérer le changement en termes d’interactions entre les membres de la famille et leur participation active à la session de thérapie. Le rôle du thérapeute est de rejoindre la famille dans la conversation et de mettre en valeur ses points forts afin de les aider à surmonter leurs difficultés.

Voici quelques difficultés que nous traitons:

  • Conflits au sein de la famille

  • Maladies physiques

  • Transitions de cycle de vie

  • Problèmes de santé mentale

  • Événements imprévus (décès, perte d’emploi, etc.)

  • Difficulté à gérer les problèmes de comportement chez les enfants

  • Divorce ou séparation

  • Et autre…

Thérapie familiale

La thérapie familiale est conçue pour traiter des problèmes spécifiques affectant la santé et le fonctionnement de la famille. Cela tend à considérer le changement en termes d’interactions entre les membres de la famille et leur participation active à la session de thérapie. Le rôle du thérapeute est de rejoindre la famille dans la conversation et de mettre en valeur ses points forts afin de les aider à surmonter leurs difficultés.

Voici quelques difficultés que nous traitons:

  • Conflits au sein de la famille

  • Maladies physiques

  • Transitions de cycle de vie

  • Problèmes de santé mentale

  • Événements imprévus (décès, perte d’emploi, etc.)

  • Difficulté à gérer les problèmes de comportement chez les enfants

  • Divorce ou séparation

  • Et autre…

EMDR

La désensibilisation et retraitement des mouvements oculaires (EMDR) à débuter en 1987. La psychologue Francine Shapiro a fait l’observation fortuite du fait que les mouvements oculaires peuvent réduire l’intensité des pensées perturbatrices dans certaines conditions. Dre Shapiro a scientifiquement rapporté avoir utilisé avec succès l’EMDR pour traiter les survivants d’un traumatisme souffrant du syndrome de stress post-traumatique. Lorsqu’une personne est très contrariée, son cerveau ne peut pas traiter les informations comme d’habitude. Ce moment devient «figé dans le temps» et se souvenir du traumatisme peut être aussi pénible que de le ressentir comme si c’était la première fois. De tels souvenirs ont un effet négatif durable qui interfère avec la façon dont une personne perçoit le monde et ses relations avec les autres. L’EMDR semble avoir un effet direct sur la manière dont le cerveau traite l’information et peut être considéré comme une thérapie physiologique aidant une personne à voir le matériel perturbant d’une manière nouvelle et moins pénible.

Voici quelques difficultés que nous traitons:

  • Syndrome de stress post-traumatique (SSPT)

  • Anxiété / Phobies / Attaques de panique

  • Deuil compliqué

  • Dépression

  • Troubles de l’alimentation

  • Problèmes sexuels / relationnels

  • Abus sexuel / physique

  • Troubles de la douleur

  • Troubles dissociatifs

  • Et autres…

EMDR

La désensibilisation et retraitement des mouvements oculaires (EMDR) à débuter en 1987. La psychologue Francine Shapiro a fait l’observation fortuite du fait que les mouvements oculaires peuvent réduire l’intensité des pensées perturbatrices dans certaines conditions. Dre Shapiro a scientifiquement rapporté avoir utilisé avec succès l’EMDR pour traiter les survivants d’un traumatisme souffrant du syndrome de stress post-traumatique. Lorsqu’une personne est très contrariée, son cerveau ne peut pas traiter les informations comme d’habitude. Ce moment devient «figé dans le temps» et se souvenir du traumatisme peut être aussi pénible que de le ressentir comme si c’était la première fois. De tels souvenirs ont un effet négatif durable qui interfère avec la façon dont une personne perçoit le monde et ses relations avec les autres. L’EMDR semble avoir un effet direct sur la manière dont le cerveau traite l’information et peut être considéré comme une thérapie physiologique aidant une personne à voir le matériel perturbant d’une manière nouvelle et moins pénible.

Voici quelques difficultés que nous traitons:

  • Syndrome de stress post-traumatique (SSPT)

  • Anxiété / Phobies / Attaques de panique

  • Deuil compliqué

  • Dépression

  • Troubles de l’alimentation

  • Problèmes sexuels / relationnels

  • Abus sexuel / physique

  • Troubles de la douleur

  • Troubles dissociatifs

  • Et autres…

Supervision clinique

Le Centre de Psychologie Oala offre un cadre dans lequel la guérison psychologique est primordiale. Intégré est une plate-forme éducative où la participation et la confiance dans la supervision favorisent l’apprentissage, le développement professionnel et la formation de l’identité du psychothérapeute. L’alliance supervisé-superviseur est ancrée dans le respect, l’ouverture, l’authenticité, l’encouragement et la facilitation. Notre approche de la supervision est de nature constructiviste.

Voici quelques uns de nos objectifs:

  • Combattre le sentiment d’anxiété / stress chez le clinicien

  • Favoriser la réflexivité, la positionalité et la capacité de générer des conceptualisations et des interventions alternatives

  • Inspirer et maintenir la relation entre supervisé-superviseur ainsi que de l’espoir dans la supervision

  • Offrir de nouvelles expériences d’apprentissage thérapeutique et de nouvelles possibilités de pratique

  • Améliorer la maîtrise et l’auto-efficacité

  • Et autres…

Supervision clinique

Le Centre de Psychologie Oala offre un cadre dans lequel la guérison psychologique est primordiale. Intégré est une plate-forme éducative où la participation et la confiance dans la supervision favorisent l’apprentissage, le développement professionnel et la formation de l’identité du psychothérapeute. L’alliance supervisé-superviseur est ancrée dans le respect, l’ouverture, l’authenticité, l’encouragement et la facilitation. Notre approche de la supervision est de nature constructiviste.

Voici quelques uns de nos objectifs:

  • Combattre le sentiment d’anxiété / stress chez le clinicien

  • Favoriser la réflexivité, la positionalité et la capacité de générer des conceptualisations et des interventions alternatives

  • Inspirer et maintenir la relation entre supervisé-superviseur ainsi que de l’espoir dans la supervision

  • Offrir de nouvelles expériences d’apprentissage thérapeutique et de nouvelles possibilités de pratique

  • Améliorer la maîtrise et l’auto-efficacité

  • Et autres…

Carrières

Nous recherchons des psychologues dynamiques et des doctorants enthousiastes qui veulent agrandir leurs expériences et se joindre à notre équipe dynamique. Veuillez cliquer sur les liens ci-dessous pour plus d’informations et pour postuler.

PSYCHOLOGUES
DOCTORANTS

Nous joindre

Pour prendre rendez-vous ou simplement vous informer sur notre clinique, vous pouvez nous contacter avec les information ci-dessous: